The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Smart Cities has Members of both Houses of Parliament.

The Group is chaired by Iain Stewart MP, with Vice-Chairs Mark Prisk MP, Seema Malhotra MP, Alison Thewliss MP, James Cartlidge MP and Lord Erroll.

Iain Stewart MP - Chair

Iain Stewart is the Conservative Member of Parliament for Milton Keynes South. Mr Stewart was Parliamentary Private Secretary to Liam Fox as Secretary of State for International Trade from 2016 to 2017, as well as to David Mundell as Secretary of State for Scotland 2015-16 and Patrick McLoughlin as Secretary of State for Transport 2013-15. His parliamentary interests include transport, energy security, the economy and education.

Mark Prisk MP - Vice Chair
Mark Prisk MP - Vice ChairConservative Party
Mark Prisk is the Member of Parliament for Hertford and Stortford. Mr Prisk was the Minister of State for Housing and Local Government from 2012-2013 and Minister for Business and Enterprise from 2010 to 2012. When in Opposition, he served as Shadow Minister for Business and Enterprise, and Shadow Minister for Cornwall. His parliamentary interests include small business and enterprise, urban planning, housing and regeneration.
Seema Malhotra MP - Vice Chair
Seema Malhotra MP - Vice ChairLabour Party
Seema Malhotra is the Member of Parliament for Feltham and Heston and was elected in the December 2011 by-election.  She is a member of the Select Committee on Exiting the European Union and was Shadow Minister for Preventing Violence Against Women and Girls 2014-15, before holding the position of Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury 2015-16. Prior to this, she served as Parliamentary Private Secretary to Rt Hon Yvette Cooper MP as Shadow Home Secretary and Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities.  Between 2012 – 2014, Seema chaired the Parliamentary Labour Party’s Department Group on Business, Innovation and Skills.

Alison Thewliss MP - Vice Chair
Alison Thewliss MP - Vice ChairScottish National Party
Alison Thewliss was elected to Parliament in the 2015 General Election and represents the Glasgow Central constituency.  Ms Thewliss is the SNP Spokesperson on Treasury and Cities. Prior to Parliament, she was a Glasgow City councillor from 2007 – 2015 and was the SNP Group’s Spokesperson on land and environmental services.
Lord Erroll - Vice Chair
Lord Erroll - Vice ChairCrossbench
The Earl of Erroll is a Cross Bench Peer who first entered the House of Lords in 1978. With a background in computer security and identity, he sits on the ISSA UK Executive Advisory Board and the Local Authority Smartcard Standards e-Organisation (LASSEO).  He is also a member of EURIM and the Parliamentary Information Technology Committee.

James Cartlidge MP - Vice Chair
James Cartlidge MP - Vice ChairConservative Party
James Cartlidge has been the Member of Parliament for South Suffolk since May 2015. He is a member of the Public Accounts Commision and Chair of All Party Parliamentary Group for Housing and Planning. Prior to Parliament Cartlidge founded and ran “Share to Buy”, a mortgage broker and “property portal”. He has also been a researcher for the Conservative Party and a journalist for the Daily Telegraph and Conservative Home.

Jonathan Reynolds MP - Treasurer
Jonathan Reynolds MP - TreasurerLabour Party
Jonathan Reynolds was elected as the Member for Stalybridge and Hyde in the 2010 general election, and has been a member of  several select committees, including the Business, Innovation and Skills Select Committee  and the Science and Technology Committee. Mr Reynolds has held a number of shadow ministerial positions including Shadow Minister for Energy and Climate Change and Shadow Minister for Transport.

Parliamentary Members registered in the APPG Smart Cities:

    Conservative Party Members

  • Lord Arbuthnot
  • Steve Baker MP
  • Oliver Colvile MP
  • Michael Ellis MP
  • Cheryl Gillan MP
  • Zac Goldsmith MP
  • Marcus Jones MP
  • Jeremy Lefroy MP
  • Lord Inglewood
  • Baroness Neville-Rolfe
  • Chris Pincher MP
  • Lord Rana
  • Iain Stewart MP
    Labour Party Members

  • Clive Betts MP
  • Lord Foulkes
  • Helen Hayes MP
  • Meg Hillier MP
  • Darren Jones MP
  • Kerry McCarthy MP
  • Anna McMorrin MP
  • Matthew Pennycook MP
  • Lucy Powell MP
  • Jonathan Reynolds MP
  • Baroness Smith
  • Angela Smith MP
  • Jeff Smith MP
  • Stephen Timms MP
  • Dr Alan Whitehead MP

    Other Members

  • Drew Hendry MP (Scottish National Party)
  • Chris Law MP (Scottish National Party)
  • Baroness Barker (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lord Best (Crossbench)
  • Baroness Bonham Carter (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lord Broers (Crossbench)
  • Jeffrey Donaldson MP (DUP)
  • Lord Fox (Liberal Democrat)
  • Baroness Greengross (Crossbench)
  • Baroness Grey-Thompson (Crossbench)
  • Lord Scriven (Liberal Democrat)
  • Lord Mair (Crossbench)